MB7APT Link


DISRUPTION TO SERVICE at the Perth Gateway – update

Posted in Amateur Radio by gm4uls on April 11, 2013
Tags: , ,

I have isolated the problem, thanks to advice both from Peter EI4JR (who originally supplied the reconditioned PC on which I have been running the gateway software) and a very helpful guy at the Virgin Media helpline. To cut a long story short, I have replaced an old Belkin 54g wireless router, which was faling to connect to the laptops around our house, with a brand new Apple AirPort Extreme router. That has solved the domestic issues perfectly, which has had to be my first consideration, because my daughter is in the middle of a BSc course and my wife is a writer. However, the old PC and the router won’t talk to each other. By process of elimination, and thanks to Peter’s advice, the most probable cause of the present problem is that the PC and the router work at vastly different speeds.

At some time in the near future I shall be going along to my local PC World, explaining the problem to them, and buying a new internet card for the PC – if they have one. If they don’t, then I’m afraid the only alternative is for me to save up for a new(er) PC. I will keep you informed.

Paul
sysop GM6MEN-L

One Response to 'DISRUPTION TO SERVICE at the Perth Gateway – update'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'DISRUPTION TO SERVICE at the Perth Gateway – update'.


  1. […] At the moment the link is not operational, but I am working on finding a fix. […]


Leave a Reply

